Avvo Clients’ Choice for General Practice in 2012

Connecticut DUI Law - Ignition Interlock Device

Connecticut DUI law now allows a person convicted of driving under the influence to shorten the term of their license suspension if they install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in the vehicle they will be operating. What the law says, basically, is that certain offenders (1st and 2nd time offenders) can drive 45 days afte their suspension takes effect IF they install such a device at ther own cost and expense on every vehicle they drive. The law does not apply to those holding a CDL license. The length of time the device must be used will depend on whether you are a first or second time offender.

More information can be obtained at this DMV site.

http://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=813&q=309844

The cost will vary slightly by vendor but figure on about $1,500 a year comprised of a few up front fees to DMV to apply and the vendor to install and then $75-$100 a month.

There are crazy stories out there about having to blow a sample into the device while driving or the car shuts off and other anecdotal myths. Rule of thumb is if what your being told sounds stupid and dangerous it probably isn't true.

Categories: DUI

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship

Bayer & Black, P.C. - Fairfield County Attorney

Wilton Office

195 Danbury Road, Suite 160
Wilton, CT 06897

Danbury Office

153 White Street
Danbury, Connecticut 06810

View Map
Phone: (203) 614-9734 | Local Phone: (203) 762-0751.
Website:
195 Danbury Rd., Suite 160 P.O. Box 459 Wilton, CT 06897