2012 Avvo Clients’ Choice Award for DUI

Fairfield County DUI Attorney

Proven DUI Defense in Fairfield County, CT

Drunken driving affects thousands of people each year, and Connecticut law enforcement is always ready to crack down on drinking and driving. In their effort to get dangerous drivers off the road, some police officers are quick to arrest and book someone on drunken driving accusations. If you have been arrested, you may be severely prosecuted and face serious penalties. It is important that after you are taken into custody you contact an attorney from Bayer & Black, P.C. as soon as you can. At our firm, we are prepared to provide you with the best possible representation to ensure that you receive the best outcome possible for your case.

ALCOHOL EDUCATION PROGRAM

If you have never been convicted of a DUI in Connecticut or any other State you may be eligible for this program which will keep your record clean if successfully completed. You are eligible for this program once every ten years. Granting the program is within the court's discretion. Things the court looks at are whether you were cooperative with the police, any other crimes charged, overall criminal and motor vehicle record, level of impairment, whether there was an accident or a near miss, were you insured, and are you likely to benefit from the program.

REPEAT OFFENDERS

Repeat offenders face mandatory periods of incarceration and mandatory fines. If it is your first conviction you may be eligible to elect 100 community service hours in lieu of a mandatory 2 days in jail. Second convictions may be sentenced to 1 year in jail, 120 days of which is a mandatory minimum, in addition to a three year license suspension. Steep fines of $500 to $2,000 are mandatory.

PER SE LICENSE SUSPENSIONS

Connecticut is an implied consent state. This means that if you are arrested for DUI you cannot refuse to take a breath, urine or blood test to measure your blood alcohol content without serious license suspension repercussions. Refusing a test means an automatic minimum 6 month suspension of your driver's license. It doesn't matter whether you are guilty of DUI or not. A refusal also means you lose the privilege to apply for a special operators permit to drive to and from work or school for the first 90 days of the suspension.

If you take the test and your blood alcohol content is over the legal limit, you may have your license suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles within 30 days of your arrest. The length of the suspension is based upon the level of your blood alcohol content and how many previous per se suspensions you have had. The minimum suspension period is 90 days.

These administrative suspensions may be in addition to the suspensions levied for a conviction. You have a right to appeal any suspension and we have won these appeals. You may be eligible for special operators permit to drive to and from work or school. Call us immediately on our 24 hour telephone number if you are arrested and asked to take a test!

Defending a Person Charged with Drunk Driving

While a DUI charge can be devastating for a person, it is important to know that you still may be able to receive a lesser offense or an acquittal of your charges. Connecticut recognizes a person as intoxicated if they have a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher. If the individual is under the age of 21, however, they will be charged with a DUI if their blood alcohol content is 0.02% or higher.

Police use Breathalyzers, urine tests and blood tests to show your blood alcohol content. Breath, urine, and blood tests that are used to charge someone with a DUI can also be faulty and may provide improper readings and wrong determinations of blood alcohol content. Police also use Standardized Field Sobriety Tests (SFSTs) to show impairment. SFSTs must be performed in a very specific way or they are worthless and subject to attack.

It is important that you retain our representation right away after you are arrested. Contact our Fairfield County criminal defense team to schedule a free case evaluation as soon as possible.

Special Operators Permits and Ignition Interlock Devices

For many clients the suspension of their right to operate a motor vehicle is devastating. Even if your license has been suspended for an alcohol related charge you may be eligible to get back on the road and save your job, stay in school, or keep your family functioning. Call today for a free case evaluation to find out if you are eligible.


The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship

Bayer & Black, P.C. - Fairfield County Attorney

Wilton Office

195 Danbury Road, Suite 160
Wilton, CT 06897

Danbury Office

153 White Street
Danbury, Connecticut 06810

View Map
Phone: (203) 614-9734 | Local Phone: (203) 762-0751.
Website:
195 Danbury Rd., Suite 160 P.O. Box 459 Wilton, CT 06897